St Albans Abbey archives

Photo:Abbey Muniment Room

Abbey Muniment Room

Abbey catalogues and bibliography available here

By Jonathan Mein

The Abbey Muniment Room houses an extensive collection of primary and secondary source material concerning the Abbey both in its guise as a parish church and perhaps its more significant role as the seat of the bishop. There are many gems in the collection, Godman’s Abbey parish map from 1818 and early sketches and photographs being just some of them.  

What does the collection consist of? In simple terms the bulk of the collection is…that of a large town parish with a number of items connected with the Dean and Chapter and very few connected with the Bishopric. The two catalogues listed below describe in good detail what is available.

The Muniment Room is generally open one afternoon a week. For further details please contact the Abbey’s administrator on 01727 890208 or mail@stalbanscathedral.org

This page was added by Jonathan Mein on 27/03/2012.

If you're already a registered user of this site, please login using the form on the left-hand side of this page.