Abbey catalogues and bibliography
By Jonathan Mein and Donald Munro
The Muniment Room in St Albans Cathedral houses an extensive collection of primary and secondary source material concerning the Abbey both in its guise as a parish church and as the seat of the bishop. There are many gems in the collection, Godman’s Abbey parish map from 1818 and early sketches and photographs being just some of many.
The bulk of the collection is that of a large town parish principally relating to the Dean and Chapter, with very few concerning the Bishopric. The two catalogues listed below describe in good detail what is available.
The Muniment Room is generally open one afternoon a week. For further details call 01727 890239 (voicemail) or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org
NB. Thet Records of the Archdeaconry, the Diocese of St Albans, including the Bishop, the Diocesan Registry and the Boards and Committees of Diocesan Office since 1877 are held at Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies (HALS).
Abbey Muniment Room Main Catalogue (483k) April 2016
Abbey Muniment Room Catalogue Files (529k) March 2016
St Albans Abbey Bibliography (260k)
This page was added by Jonathan Mein on 05/02/2018.